Tocqueville Society

The Tocqueville Society, formed in 1993 in Southern Maine, is an exceptional group of individuals and families who contribute $10,000 or more to United Way of Southern Maine each year.

The Tocqueville Society was named in honor of Alexis de Tocqueville, who published “Democracy in America” in 1835. He wrote that one of America’s greatest strengths was forming associations that extended democracy to the level of people who a shared a common vision.

The following Tocqueville Society members show extraordinary leadership and deep level of commitment to the betterment of Southern Maine. Recognition in the Society follows the United Way of Southern Maine Tocqueville Designation Policy.

2022-2023 Tocqueville Society Members


$100,000 – $249,999

Lisa Gorman


$50,000 – $74,999

James & Maureen Gorman


$25,000 – $49,999

Melissa Smith & Brian Corcoran
Michael & Denise Dubyak
Betsey & Hugh Farrington
Jeff & Sonya Gorman
Shawn Gorman
Hans & Suse Jahns
Kristine & Tim Masse
Jay Mazelsky
Andrea & Fred Pape


$15,000 – $24,999

Bill & Karen Burke
Sue & Bill Caron
John & Brenda Chandler
Kathryn Burnham & Nathan Clark
Michael Bourque & Kendra Connelly
Mr. William Dobrowolski
Mrs. Herb Ginn
Jim & Mary Highland
Tom & Kathy Keefer
Chris & Nicole Lewis
Scott & Cindy Mahoney
Dick & Carol Peterson
Jean Wilson & John Roberts
Chris & Nova Rogers
Monica & Jeff Sanders
Liz Cotter Schlax & Michael Schlax
Gregory & Kimberly Smith
Al & Linda Swallow
Michael & Andrea Vail
Jeb Brooks & Cherie Wendelken
Jennifer & Bennet Wilson


$10,000 – $14,999

Mr. Robert P. Bauman
Jim & Sarah Belliveau
Michelle & Marc Boucher
Greg Boulos
Bruce Moore & Jan Chapman
Tony & Diane Cipollone
Brian & Carolyn Clement
Michael & Katherine Coster
Mike Currie
Jay & Nisha Dearborn
Steve & Kristen deCastro
Henry Donovan
Kelly Elkins
David & Nancy Erb
Jason & Kelly Favreau
Alex & AnneMarie Gramling
Tim Griffin
Cyrus Hagge
Dr. Steven Hanna
Peter Haynes
Elizabeth Herrle
Bob & Katy Hews
David & Rosemarie Hines
Hazen L. Hoyt
Mrs. Cornelia Kittredge
David & Janice Latulippe

Charlie & Anita Leadbetter
Lodewick-Roope Family
Eduardo Daranyi & Ellen Mahoney
Marie McCarthy
Olympia Snowe & John McKernan
Irving Meeker
Andy & Courtney Mueller
Todd Cesca & Megan Murray
Jeff & Alison Nathanson
Brian & Heather Paquette
Sue & Mike Payson
Bob & Susie Peixotto
Mr. Daniel Snow & Ms. Merilee Raines
Christian & Tandy Ratliff
Elaine D. Rosen
Meredith Rousseau
David Shaw
Ruby & Michael Simonds
Steve & Lynn Smith
Hilary Rapkin & Will Stiles
Lisa & Nelson Toner
Erik & Mary Jo Van der Kaay
Kierston & Justin Van Soest
Seth & Jill Webber
Diane Garofalo & Robert Westburg
Larry & Colette Wold

For More Information